Identifying Your Voice and More, Yasmin Bakhtiari

Identifying Your Voice and More

            Never waste a good depression. I told this to a friend when we were talking about writing, and we both laughed. I was feeling down-trodden, and finally I remembered something. The last time I felt so terrible, I gave birth to a wonderful story. Granted, the story was grim and on the dark side, but, well, it was filled with emotion which originated from my depressed state. Sometimes whatever we are feeling, whether it is happiness or sadness, can help us heighten the emotion and the tone of our stories.

Try writing through your emotions. This will help identify your voice. This will also evoke emotion in your story. You will not only identify your voice and the tone of the story, but your readers will identify with your characters and your story, which is crucial.

Voice, tone, mood–they are all related terms in writing. Just look at the works by Edgar Allen Poe. By analyzing even one paragraph or two, you will notice his word choice and what you feel when you read his work. Stephen King is also brilliant at this, so is Ann Rice. Rosamund Pilcher, who wrote September and The Shell Seekers, is brilliant at creating mood, too. Anne Rice writes like velvet. She is amazing at evoking a sense of time and place, she has a very distinct voice.

Stephen King scares the hell out of his readers, but he is also brilliant at characterization. His voice changes with each book. Rosamund Pilcher is a completely different kind of writer. Older women are her main characters and her voice is also very distinct. When she writes, women can completely identify with her characters and her stories. When I read one of her stories, I feel good to be alive and want to drink aromatic coffee, and place flowers around the house, and curl up with a good book and a mug of hot soup and a blanket around my feet. I curl up my feet when I read Stephen King, as well, but not because I want to be cozy, it’s because I don’t want a hand to emerge from under the sofa and grab my ankle.

In addition to these three brilliant writers, we also have Ken Follett. Again the only word I can use to describe him is brilliant. I love historical fiction, and he is a master. Pillars of the Earth is one of my top five favorite books of all time. There are many wonderful writers, but these are some of my favorites. For historical romance, Bertrice Small is one author who is at the top of my list.

Young adult books have fantastic plots and conflict the same way adult fiction does, but the conflicts are resolved more  quickly.  My favorite young adult series was written by the late Lloyd Alexander. He wrote the Chronicles of Prydain.

What I am looking for as an editor is, of course, a great story. The story must be polished as much as possible before you send it in. I am interested in historical romance, historical fiction, (example, Girl With a Pearl Earring.), contemporary fiction, women’s fiction, young adult stories, and some types of suspenseful horror.

I simply detest books that are convoluted and end badly. The end of the book should make sense, for better or worse, and should be satisfying in some way. I read an historical romance once that was so terrible I wanted to throw it across the room when I finished reading it. The hero and the heroine not only did not end up together, but the hero was imprisoned for a murder he didn’t commit. Worst of all was the ending. I kept hoping and waiting for justice and happily ever after, but once again I was let down by the story. The hero hangs at the end. That was the stupid ending. If he had committed the murders, well, that would have at least been fair. Anyway, I never read another book by that author and can’t even remember her name.

So, find your voice, write a great story, polish your work, have a good ending, send it in, and we’ll just have us a look. Happy writing!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Identifying Your Voice and More, Yasmin Bakhtiari

  1. I love the way you explained things with writers as examples!

    Like

  2. Wow, Yasi, this is an amazing blog. I love your subject and the way you illustrated your points with authors/books, etc. Wonderful. Thanks.

    Like

  3. Yasi, your reading examples blow me away! I like the way you broke down finding your voice for our readers! Great post.

    Like

  4. Indeed! I once read a book by a well-known author in which our heroine struggled with agraphobia. She loses her husband, who has become a famous movie star, to another woman because she, the wife, cannot leave the house. At last she overcomes her fear enough to fly to London to fight for him–and is hit by a car and killed. I never read that author again.

    Like

  5. I’m with you, Nancy S. I’d toss that book against the wall!

    Like

  6. Jackie Rod

    Yasi, I like the examples you gave to show writers how to identify their voices. Working through their own moods can add more emotional flavor to their manuscripts. Thanks for using Edgar Allen Poe as a model.

    Like

  7. hamerse

    Hi Yasi! I enjoyed your post – you mentioned several books/authors that I have read and liked. I’m looking up the Chronicles of Prydain to read, since I haven’t seen them before.
    I, too, hate convoluted stories, especially if they don’t have a happyending. i mean, how hard is it to write a story where people are happy? 🙂 Not that I don’t cry with the ones that end sadly. I just want the ending to be satisfying and believable. And I don’t think that’s too much to ask!

    Like

    • hey , i reset my password and can finally leave comments. I’ve been sending my blogs to Mary and she’s been posting them. So. Did you pick up the Chronicles of Prydain? I hope you like the series . talk to you soon. Yasi

      Like

  8. Yasi, your blog is so insightful. It’s not a mystery why some authors develop loyal fans. When the writing sweeps me away to another world I can’t wait to read the author’s next release. Your blog does a wonderful job identifying voice for authors!

    Like

  9. NB

    Hi Yasi!
    This post was so interesting. I like all of the points you make. My favorite part, of course, was the arm coming out from under the bed! 🙂 I can’t wait to read your future posts.

    Like

  10. Susan Betancourt

    Funny and informative at the same time!

    Like

  11. This blog was so well developed and beautifully written. It left me feeling happy and inspired. One of my biggest issues right now is developing a more distinct voice as a writer. I find that I can develop the beginning of a story, but I have trouble avoiding a convoluted end. Thanks for the post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

